Experience the

Open Urban

Art Gallery

in MannheimSignet

STADT.WAND.KUNST: URBAN STREET ART ON MANNHEIM’S FACADES

Mannheim is a city that keeps pace with the times – liberal-minded, creative, and so innovative that it brings art to its streets. The Stadt.Wand.Kunst (City.Wall.Art) initiative adds even more variety and colour to the already vibrant city of Mannheim and embellishes the public space in the most unusual locations. 17 murals are currently on display – among them Germany's largest one.

My Superhero Power is Forgiveness
My Superhero Power is Forgiveness © Alexander Krziwanie

It all started in 2013 when the world-renowned artist duo Herakut were looking for a wall for their Giant Storybook Project, in which individual pages of a picture book were painted onto entire house walls. The Alte Feuerwache venue had already set up several graffiti projects in cooperation with spray paint manufacturer Montana Cans. They were happy to support Herakut and to find a suitable location together with the Mannheim Housing Association.

In the summer of 2013, the first mural called “My Superhero Power is Forgiveness” was created in square F6, 1-5. With its expressive lines and a short text, Herakut’s mural lovingly and inspiringly tells a story of collective constraints, social divisions, strength and forgiveness.

The Modern Thinker
The Modern Thinker © Manuel Wagner

Herakut’s impressive murals attracted a lot of positive feedback – so the decision was made to use even more walls for street art in Mannheim. The idea for Stadt.Wand.Kunst – the Open Urban Art Gallery – was born.

The aim is to create a public museum of façade art and thus bring artworks into the heart of the city, accessible to everyone and free of charge. Another special feature of this gallery is that you can even follow the creation of the murals live.

The following summer saw the creation of the colourful mural “The Modern Thinker” by the Moscow artist ASKE, which also adorns the F squares of Mannheim’s city centre. The work is a modern interpretation of Auguste Rodin’s iconic “Thinker”, composed like a comic strip of individual, separate surfaces.

Untitled
Untitled © Alexander Krziwanie

For five years now, the Stadt.Wand.Kunst project has been inviting numerous diverse street artists to Mannheim every summer. Whether national newcomers, international stars or emerging regional artists, each of them spends months in advance preparing for the new space and coordinating the artwork with its surroundings so that each mural occupies its proper place in the district.

So far, the following artists have participated in Stadt.Wand.Kunst: HERAKUT, ASKE, SATONE, STOHEAD and SOBEKCIS as well as HOMBRE SUK & BOOGIE, MEINER and SWEETUNO, SAINER, Mehrdad Zaeri, BEZT, Hendrik ECB Beikirch, Alexey LUKA, Yazan Halwani, NEVERCREW, LOW BROS and HOMBRE SUK, 1010 and WAONE Interesni Kazki. In summer 2018, they were joined by The London Police, Sourati, Frau Isa and Egs.

In sum, a total of 22 works have been created since the start of the initiative. Sadly, some are no longer visible because the buildings they adorned had to be demolished.

Top

In MannheimSignet

fasziniert die

Open Urban Art Gallery

Stadt.Wand.Kunst: Urbane Streetart an Mannheims Fassaden

Mannheim ist eine Stadt am Puls der Zeit — innovativ, urban und so kreativ, dass sie sogar Kunst auf ihre Straßen bringt. 17 großformatige Wandgemälde, sogenannte „Murals“, zählt Mannheim aktuell. Darunter auch das größte Mural Deutschlands. Stadt.Wand.Kunst mischt das ohnehin schon bunte Mannheim durch noch mehr Vielfalt und Farbe auf und verschönert den öffentlichen Raum an den unterschiedlichsten Ecken.

My Superhero Power is Forgiveness
My Superhero Power is Forgiveness © Alexander Krziwanie

Angefangen hat alles im Jahr 2013. Für das weltweit renommierte Künstlerduo Herakut suchte man damals eine Wand für das Giant Storybook Project, in dessen Rahmen einzelne Seiten eines Bilderbuchs auf ganze Hauswänder gemalt wurden. Die Alte Feuerwache hatte bereits mehrere Graffiti-Projekte in Kooperation mit dem Sprühfarben-Hersteller Montana Cans auf die Beine gestellt und entschied sich dazu, Herakut zu unterstützen und gemeinsam mit der Mannheimer Wohnbaugesellschaft GBG eine geeignete Platzierung zu finden.

So entstand im Sommer 2013 das erste Mural namens „My Superhero Power is Forgiveness“ im Quadrat F6, 1-5. Mit ausdrucksvollen Linienführungen erzählt das Wandbild von Herakut zusammen mit einem kurzen Text liebevoll und inspirierend eine Geschichte von kollektiven Zwängen, sozialen Brüchen, Stärke und Vergebung.

The Modern Thinker
The Modern Thinker © Manuel Wagner

Das beeindruckende Fassadengemälde von Herakut bekam viel positives Feedback — weswegen die Entscheidung fiel, noch mehr Wände für Street Art in Mannheim zu nutzen: Die Idee zu Stadt.Wand.Kunst, der Open Urban Gallery, war geboren.

Ziel ist es, ein öffentliches Museum für Fassadenkunst entstehen zu lassen und dadurch Kunstwerke mitten in die Stadt zu bringen, die für jedermann zugänglich sind und das sogar ganz kostenlos. Eine weitere Besonderheit an dieser Gallery ist, dass man die Entstehung der Murals sogar live verfolgen kann.

Im Sommer darauf folgte das farbenstarke Mural „The Modern Thinker“ des Moskauer Künstlers ASKE, welches ebenso die F-Quadrate der Mannheimer Innenstadt ziert. Es ist eine moderne Interpretation des „Denkers“ von Auguste Rodin, der sich comicartig aus einzelnen, voneinander abgegrenzten Flächen zusammensetzt.

Vera
Vera © Alexander Krziwanie

Seit nunmehr fünf Jahren lädt Stadt.Wand.Kunst jeden Sommer aufs Neue mehrere, ganz unterschiedliche Streetart-Künstler nach Mannheim ein. Egal ob nationale Newcomer, internationale Stars oder regionale Nachwuchskünstler, jede*r Künstler*in beschäftigt sich bereits Monate im Voraus sehr intensiv mit dem zugeteilten Wohnraum und stimmt das Kunstwerk auf die Umgebung ab, sodass jedes Mural seinen richtigen Platz im Viertel hat.

Folgende Künstler waren bisher an Stadt.Wand.Kunst beteiligt: HERAKUT, ASKE, SATONE, STOHEAD und SOBEKCIS sowie HOMBRE SUK & BOOGIE, MEINER und SWEETUNO, SAINER, Mehrdad Zaeri, BEZT, Hendrik ECB Beikirch, Alexey LUKA, Yazan Halwani, NEVERCREW, LOW BROS und HOMBRE SUK, 1010 und WAONE Interesni Kazki. Diesen Sommer kamen noch The London Police, Sourati, Frau Isa und Egs hinzu.

Insgesamt wurden 22 Werke geschaffen. Einige davon sind leider nicht mehr zu sehen, da die Gebäude abgerissen werden mussten.

Top