MannheimSignet

A city that thinks big

MERIAN Mannheim

The last time MERIAN published an issue about Mannheim was in 1976. Now, once again, Germany's most renowned travel magazine takes the reader on a voyage through the city that lies at the heart of the Rhine Neckar Metropolitan Region.

MERIAN Mannheim is available both in English and German.

Pure pomp is not its style. Mannheim’s sights are not only pretty but also functional. The city’s landmark “Wasserturm”, for example, once served as a cistern, and the Mannheim Baroque Palace houses the University of Mannheim nowadays. In many places, you can still find the remnants of Mannheim’s past as a residential city. In the 18th century, the city became a centre of the fine arts — rivalling other major European cities of the time. “Mannheim has the potential to capitalize on its heritage, and it’s an extremely interesting city break destination,” says chief editor Hansjörg Falz. 

Together with numerous partners and in cooperation with the Jahreszeiten-Verlag publishing company, the Stadtmarketing Mannheim GmbH has initiated the current issue. Karmen Strahonja, managing director of the Stadtmarketing Mannheim GmbH, appears excited: “With the MERIAN Mannheim issue, the city joins the ranks of destinations such as New York, Tokyo, or Munich — cities that have been portrayed by MERIAN in the past. This shows us that we are on the right track to making Mannheim a top destination for city breaks in the Southwest.”

Besides numerous reports and interviews, the new MERIAN issue also contains an infographic, many detailed maps, and 20 pages of additional information, insider tips, and beautiful pictures of Mannheim. The magazine is available in well-assorted newspaper kiosks and bookstores (both offline and online). You can also buy a copy at the

Tourist Information Mannheim
Willy-Brandt-Platz 5
68161 Mannheim

Top

MannheimSignet

Eine Stadt denkt groß

MERIAN Mannheim

Eine Hommage an die Quadratestadt: Nach über 40 Jahren erschien am 22. November erstmals wieder eine MERIAN-Ausgabe über Mannheim. Auf rund 140 Seiten nimmt das renommierteste Reise- und Kulturmagazin Deutschlands die Leser mit auf eine Entdeckungsreise quer durch die Stadt im Herzen der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar.

Purer Pomp ist nicht der Stil dieser Stadt. Ihre Sehenswürdigkeiten sind nicht nur schön, sie haben auch einen Sinn: wie der Turm, der einst als Wassertank diente, oder das Schloss, das heute eine Universität ist. Vielerorts stößt man auf das Zeugnis der großen Vergangenheit der einstigen Residenzstadt, die sich im 18. Jahrhundert als Zentrum der schönsten Künste europäischen Ruf und Rang erobert hatte. „Mannheim hat das Talent“, so MERIAN Chefredakteur Hansjörg Falz, „aus seinen historischen Erinnerungen Kapital zu schlagen und ist ein sehr interessantes City-Break-Ziel.“

Gemeinsam mit zahlreichen Partnern aus der ganzen Stadt und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jahreszeiten-Verlag hat die Stadtmarketing Mannheim GmbH die aktuelle Ausgabe auf den Weg gebracht. Karmen Strahonja, Geschäftsführerin der Stadtmarketing Mannheim GmbH, zeigt sich begeistert: „Mit dem MERIAN Mannheim reiht sich Mannheim ein in eine Reihe von Reisezielen wie New York, Tokio oder München, die ebenfalls bereits für den MERIAN Porträt standen. Für uns ist das eine Bestätigung auf unserem Weg Mannheim als Top-Destination für Städtereisen im Südwesten zu etablieren“, so Strahonja. 

Neben zahlreichen Reportagen und Interviews enthält die neue MERIAN-Ausgabe eine Infografik, viele Detailkarten, einen 20-seitigen Infoteil mit wertvollen Tipps und ein Portfolio der schönsten Bilder aus Mannheim. Erhältlich sind die druckfrischen Hefte bundesweit in allen gut sortierten Kiosken, Buchläden und in der

Tourist Information Mannheim
Willy-Brandt-Platz 5
68161 Mannheim
für EUR 8,95

Großabnehmer und Partner des Stadtmarketings können die Ausgabe über das Marketing-Tool bestellen.

Top